Demonstrations in Attaq (Shabwa) in support of the Shabwani Elite Forces

Demonstrations in Attaq (Shabwa) in support of the Shabwani Elite Forces

[24 June 2019] Thousands of people took to the streets of Attaq, the Shabwani governorate capital, in order to support the efforts of the Shabwani Elite Forces in maintaining security and stability in the governorate. In consequence of military provocations by troops close to the Islah party, the Southern Transitional Council called for demonstrations on Sunday 23 June 2019.

At the end of the demonstrations, a statement was issued condemning the destabilizing interference of Islah-allied troops in the governorate. The demonstrators called for an independent military unit for Shabwa and for an end to interventions by Islah-aligned troops in the governorate. According to the statement, security provision shall only be assumed by local security forces and the Shabwani Elite Forces in the future.

The statement praised the Arab coalition led by Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates for its positive role in promoting security and stability in Shabwa. In addition, the protesters demanded the relocation of army camps from the city of Attaq to areas outside of it.

Recent Posts

Demonstrationen in Attaq (Shabwa) zur Unterstützung der shabwanischen Elitetruppen

Demonstrationen in Attaq (Shabwa) zur Unterstützung der shabwanischen Elitetruppen

[24. Juni 2019] Tausende Menschen gingen in der shabwanischen Gouvernoratshauptstadt Attaq auf die Straße, um die Maßnahmen der shabwanischen Elitetruppen zur Aufrechterhaltung der Sicherheit und Stabilität im Gouvernorat zu unterstützen. Aufgrund militärischer Provokationen durch Truppen, die der Islah-Partei nahestehen, hat der Südübergangsrat bereits am Sonntag, den 23. Juni 2019 zu Demonstrationen aufgerufen.

Am Ende der Demonstrationen wurde eine Erklärung veröffentlicht, die die destabilisierenden Eingriffe von Islah-nahen Truppen im Gouvernorat verurteilt. Die Demonstranten forderten eine unabhängige militärische Einheit für Shabwa und ein Ende der Interventionen durch Islah-nahe Truppen im Gouvernorat. Gemäß der Erklärung sollen Sicherheitsaufgaben zukünftig nur noch von lokalen Sicherheitskräften und den shabwanischen Elitetruppen übernommen werden.

In der Erklärung wurde die arabische Koalition unter Führung Saudi-Arabiens und der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate für ihre positive Rolle bei der Schaffung von Sicherheit und Stabilität in Shabwa gelobt. Zudem forderten die Protestierenden, Armeelager aus der Stadt Attaq auszulagern.

Recent Posts